Sunday, April 23, 2017
Sunday, April 16, 2017
Friday, April 14, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
What an exuberant way for Jews to celebrate their freedom for their bonds in Egypt!
Aside from the ritual Passover meal, observant Jews keep kosher by cleaning their kitchens of anything that is hametz (the fermented product from five grains: wheat, rye, spelt, barley and oats).
Many Ashkinazi Jews will also avoid eating kitniyot, foods that include corn, beans and lentil, as they expand when they are heated Conservative rabbis overturned the kitniyot prohibitions in 2015.
Such dietary conscientiousness stems from following the Torah and remembering that Jews needed to flee their slavery in Pharaoh's Egypt in haste with no time to allow for leavened bread to rise.
Matzah is kosher because it is a quickly baked cracker and has no time for fermentation leavening to occur.
Some find keeping kosher for Passover to be more of a crunch than others.